2019 Local Government Elections - Candidate Information

Mock Ballot Box Voting.JPG

 Council Election Results:

The Council Elections were held Saturday 19th October. The successful candidates are as follows:

CRONIN, Phill - 4078 votes (4year term)

COX, Kate - 3658 votes (4 year term)

RICCELLI, Sue - 3682 votes (4 year term)

PAINE, Ross - 3579 votes (4 year term)

CARTER, Paul Thomas - 3415 votes  (4 year term)

BARRETT-LENNARD, Jo - 3388 votes (2 year term)

The new Council will be sworn in on Monday 21 October 2019, at a Special Council Meeting, where the Mayor and Deputy Mayor will also be elected.

The City would like to thank outgoing Deputy Mayor John McCallum and outgoing Councillors Coralie Tarbotton and Robert Reekie for their contribution during their time on Council.



The current Council of the City of Busselton consists of nine elected members elected by the electors of the whole District.  The Mayor of the City is elected by the Councillors from amongst themselves. 

Councillors are responsible for representing the interests of the residents of the district, providing leadership and guidance to the community, facilitating communication and participating in decision-making.
Five positions will be contested at the Local Government elections to be held in October 2019. In addition, one vacant position will also be filled for a two year term following Rob Bennett's recent resignation from Council.  

Council has appointed the Western Australian Electoral Commission (WAEC) to conduct the election. Full details about eligibility and nomination procedures for prospective candidates can be obtained by contacting the Returning Officer, Catherine Smallwood via 0419 799 097 or LGro_bus@elections.wa.gov.au Alternatively, contact the WAEC on 13 63 06.

Relevant information on nominating for position of Councillor:

Key Dates:

 5 September 2019   Nominations open
12 September 2019   Nominations close (4pm)
19 October 2019   Election Day
21 October 2019   Swearing in ceremony for successful candidates


2019 Local Government Elections Timetable

Western Australian Electoral Commission Website

For further information on this topic please contact the Executive Assistants to Council on (08) 9781 0333 or via email eacouncil@busselton.wa.gov.au

Nominations for the 19 October election closed at 4pm on Thursday 12 September. Candidate profiles are available to view below in the order they will appear on the ballot papers:

Candidate Profiles:

COX, Kate

REEKIE, Robert




AVERY, Julia (Midge)


CARTER, Paul Thomas


KAIGG, Valerie

RYAN, Anne


STONE, Beverley

GREIG, Brian