Local Government elections

The 2017 City of Busselton election is now complete. Congratulations to Grant Henley, Rob Bennett, Kelly Hick and Lyndon Miles on their successful appointment to Council and well done to all of the candidates. The results are as follows:

TAYLOR, Jenny 2681
KAIGG, Valerie 1890
ERICKSON, Kailla 1732
LOUD, Lorrae 2732
HICK, Kelly 3089
O'CONNELL, Luke 1658
BOSHAMMER, Nerilee 2182
BEST, Terry 2778
GREEN, A. (Jenny) 1992
MILES, Lyndon 2853
BENNETT, Rob 3018
HENLEY, Grant 4738

The Western Australian Electoral Commission is providing a daily update on their website detailing the number of election packages that have been received by Australia Post. To access this information, just click on the following link - https://elections.wa.gov.au/2017-lge-returned-election-packages

 The current Council of the City of Busselton consists of nine elected members elected by the electors of the whole District.  The Mayor of the City is elected by the Councillors from amongst themselves. 
Councillors are responsible for representing the interests of the residents of the district, providing leadership and guidance to the community, facilitating communication and participating in decision-making.
Four positions will be contested at the Local Government elections to be held in October 2017 elections.

At 4pm on Thursday 14 September, nominations closed for the position of Councillor. The Returning Officer conducted a draw for the position order on the ballot paper and the results are as follows:

- TAYLOR, Jenny

- KAIGG, Valerie

- ERICKSON, Kailla


- LOUD, Lorrae

- HICK, Kelly


- BOSHAMMER, Nerilee

- BEST, Terry

- GREEN, A. (Jenny)

- MILES, Lyndon


- HENLEY, Grant

Nominations for the upcoming Council elections opened on Thursday 7 September and closed on Thursday 14 September. The following nominations were received for the position of Councillor:

- MILES, Lyndon (PDF, 187KB)

- TAYLOR, Jenny (PDF, 180KB)

- GREEN, A. (Jenny) (PDF, 188KB)

- LOUD, Lorrae (PDF, 53KB)

- KAIGG, Valerie (PDF, 91KB)


- BENNETT, Rob (PDF, 195KB)

- HICK, Kelly (PDF, 55KB)

- ERICKSON, Kailla (PDF, 47KB)

- BOSHAMMER, Nerilee (PDF, 58KB)  


Important links:

Interested persons may wish to read documents prepared by the Department of Local Government -
There are over 300 documents in relation to this subject that cover a variety of areas. The following links may be of particular relevance:-
It should be noted that Council has appointed the WA Electoral Commission to conduct the election and the Commission has appointed Catherine Smallwood to be the Returning Officer. Catherine Smallwood can be contacted on 0419 799 097 or via email by prospective candidates looking for nomination information.
The City in conjunction with the WA Electoral Commission will be conducting an information session on what it means to be a Local Government Councillor, the nomination process and the election process. This candidate information session will be held at the City Administration offices on Monday 21st August 2017 commencing at 5.30pm. All potential candidates are welcome to attend.

Key dates: 

21 August 2017  Candidate Information session   
1 September 2017  Electoral roll closes 
7 September 2017  Nominations open 
14 September 2017  Nominations close (4pm) 
21 October 2017  Election Day 
23 October 2017  Swearing in ceremony for successful candidates 

For further information on this topic please contact Lisa Haste on (08) 9781 0333 or via email lisa.haste@busselton.wa.gov.au