2023 City of Busselton Council Election Results

Published on Tuesday, 24 October 2023 at 11:48:24 AM

The City of Busselton is pleased to announce the results of the City’s 2023 Local Government Election. 

We welcome Phill Cronin as the City's new Mayor and Kate Cox, Sue Riccelli, Jarrod Kennedy, Andrew Macnish and Cherise Woodhams as our new or re-elected Councillors. 

After distribution of all preferences, Phill Cronin was elected as Mayor with 4,380 votes in total. His term expires on 16 October 2027. 

This is the first time City of Busselton electors have been able to vote the Mayor into office, following reforms to the Local Government Act. Previously the position was elected from within Council. 

Following the distribution of all preferences, the Councillor positions were elected with the following votes and terms:

  • Kate Cox - 1,830 (16 Oct 2027)
  • Sue Riccelli - 1,830 (16 Oct 2027)
  • Jarrod Kennedy - 1,757 (16 Oct 2027)
  • Andrew Macnish - 1,725 (16 Oct 2027)
  • Cherise Woodhams - 1,671 (16 Oct 2025)

Our new Elected Members will join Councillors Mikayla Love, Anne Ryan and Jodie Richards to form the new Council. 

CEO Tony Nottle said “Congratulations to those elected to Council and thank you to all candidates for choosing to run and serve their community. I would like to express my gratitude for all those involved in managing the new Local Government election process and thank members of our community who took the time to vote and follow with keen interest.” 

“I also acknowledge the efforts of former Mayor Grant Henley and Councillors Paul Carter and Ross Paine.

Grant served on Council for the last 14 years with unwavering commitment to his community. Paul and Ross each provided eight years of dedicated service.” 

CEO Tony Nottle further said “I’m excited to see where our new Council will take us and have no doubt these individuals will serve the community very well.” 

The Mayor and elected Councillors will be sworn in at a ceremony in the Council Chambers at 4.30pm on Wednesday 25 October, followed by a special meeting of Council commencing at 5.00pm. The Council will elect the Deputy Mayor at this meeting and appoint members to Committees and Working Groups.

You can view the Western Australian Electoral Commission Results below:

Busselton 19A - Mayor Results

Busselton 19B - Council Results

Objectives outlined in this statement are aligned with the City of Busselton’s Strategic Community Plan (2021 - 2031) Key Themes Leadership: A Council that connects with the community and is accountable in its decision making. 

Ends. Media enquiries can be directed to pr@busselton.wa.gov.au

Back to All News

If you've encountered a problem with the website or have any general feedback, please provide comment via this form.

Was this page helpful?

Get Audio Code